Busy Busy Busy

So only about two more weeks left in London. It’s pretty depressing although in some ways it will be nice to go home. I’ve been pretty homesick lately. Something I wasn’t expecting since I barely come home when I’m at school anyway. I’m also pretty excited to sleep in my own bed when I get home.

I think part of the problem is that there has been so much going on, london and elsewhere, that it’s really hard to take it all in. But then, I dont want to miss anything so I keep pushing myself until I’m feeling really drained. I also don’t want to ruin anyone elses experience but I feel like a joy kill a lot of the time, so I end up keeping to myself.  Plus, I’m really sick and don’t know if I should be resting and trying to get better or *enjoying the London experience* or whatever.

Regardless of a few bumps in the road and being the perpetual Debbie Downer, I am actually having a good time overall. I went out on Monday night with Lianna, Steff and this British guy we met, Alex. He took us to some of his favorite local pubs. They were pretty dead for a Monday night but they were actually pretty cool places. For the first time since I’ve been here, I actually forgot where I was and got to feel “at home” for a while. I had a lot of fun even though it was a pretty simple night out.

The weather has been in the 80s, with literally no clouds in the sky, which feels wonderful. At least it’s not raining all of the time anymore. I think the weather definitely helps brighten my spirits.

So since it’s been a while since I updated, a little run through of what my week has been like. Paris was seriously fantastic and could beat Toronto for my favorite city that I have ever been to. Pretty much all of my friends that have gone there have hated it, called it dirty, etc, but I really LOVED it. Even though I almost got pick pocketed (but that’s another story) the city and music scene are beautiful. Next time I go I really want to go to a jazz club there and get to experience more of that. In addition, I still really need to see the Eiffel Tower at night. Apparently, as the girls I went with found it, it gets *turned off* after 1 am, so none of us got to see it. I also understand why it’s considered the most romantic city. if I have a soul mate, he will one day take me to Paris.

We also finally got to see Abbey Road! It was a little anticlimactic (kind of like Stonehenge… oh it’s a road). but I got my obligatory pictures. There was also a while behind it where people signed their names. Still, it’s pretty much a pilgramage for every music fan to see once in their lives so I’m glad I finally got to do it. It’s such a strange feeling to see all of these places I’ve dreamed about my whole life. It’s amazing really.

Today we also got to tour the BBC, which was really awesome. And made me want to be a journalist even more.

Other than that, I’m taking it easy tonight. I leave for Amsterdam tomorrow, so this weekend is going to be pretty awesome. I’m also hoping I can get scheduled for a doctor’s appointment tonight but my insurance company hasn’t called me back yet so I don’t know how likely that is.

Anyway, hopefully will have another update soon! I keep forgetting I’m going to the Olympics Monday. Another awesome thing crossed off my bucket list.

Leave a comment